Home > News & Events > Public Events
Home > News & Events > Public Events

Public Events

At the Faculty we host a number of annual public events, including lectures, seminars, book launches, alumni gathering and student engagements. The regular annual events are listed below.

The Annual Rabinowitz Visitorship

Mr Benjamin “Bennie” Rabinowitz, successful Cape Town-based entrepreneur and philanthropist, has spent his life committed to the cause of social justice in South Africa. He has used his success to promote constructive engagement on social justice issues through the endowment of an annual Rabinowitz Visitorship at the UCT Faculty of Law. Focused on law, democracy, equality and social justice. The Visitorship takes place over three or four days and includes giving the Rabinowitz Annual Public Lecture.

The Annual Rabinowitz Visitorship kicked off over a decade ago in 2010 with past visitors including:

2010: Sir Jeffrey Jowell QC

2011: Lord Lennie Hoffman

2012: Professors John and Jean Comaroff

2013: Associate Prof Clive Thompson 

2014: Professor David Kennedy

2015: Professor Blake Morant

2017: Justice Sotomayor

2018: Justice Mohamed Navsa

2019: Justice Edwin Cameron

The Ben Beinart Memorial Lecture

The annual Ben Beinart Memorial Lecture is hosted each year by one of the Faculty's three departments - Private Law, Public Law and Commercial Law.  The Lecture, sponsored generously by Webber Wentzel, was initiated by the UCT Faculty of Law to recognise the life work and contribution to the Faculty of Professor Ben Beinart - and provides a great opportunity for each Department to invite to the Faculty a law academic from elsewhere in the world whose work resonates with work being done by academics and researchers in the Department.  

Prof Beinart, known for his deep appreciation of Roman and Roman-Dutch law and principles, was active in community organisations and played a leading role in the administration of the Law Faculty and of the University of Cape Town. Prof Beinart apparently did everything with gusto - and was a lover of good wine, good food and cigars as well as robust intellectual activity. He was known as a great who was "quick to see the humour which is present in most human predicaments and yet totally without malice".  Extracts from Professor Barry Dean, 1976 Acta Juridicta XV.

The Ben Beinart Memorial Lecture 2020