Departments & Units


The Law Faculty is organised into three departments: Commercial Law, Public Law and Private Law. Each of these departments is responsible for course offerings and research within the department. In addition, each department hosts one or more specialised academic and research units. For more information on any of the departments or research units, please click on the appropriate link below:

Commercial Law

Private Law

Public Law

Other Units and Facilities


The Law Faculty is especially proud of its research activities. The Law Faculty's research is internationally recognised for its excellence and its relevance to national and international industry needs, as shown by the considerable industrial funding of research programmes and projects. In addition to active researchers in each department, there is a variety of research units situated in the three Law departments, each pursuing specialised areas of research.

The Departments and research units of the Law Faculty are located in the Wilfred and Jules Kramer Law School building on the UCT Middle Campus (see map).