Home > Postgrad studies > Overview
Postgraduate Studies
Home > Postgrad studies > Overview


Through its School for Advanced Legal Studies (SALS), the Faculty of Law at the University of Cape Town offers postgraduates an unparalleled choice of options in full- or part-time postgraduate studies. Our faculty has a long-standing reputation for academic excellence and an innovative and critical approach to the law, abstracting students from many countries outside of South Africa. Besides working with top academics, our students also have access to world-class teaching and research facilities, including an extensive law library and comprehensive electronic databases.

Orientation and Registration dates for all programmes are detailed HERE.

Postgraduate Studies at the Faculty of Law fall into two categories:

  • Research degrees which include Master of Law (LLM) and Master of Philosophy (MPhil) by dissertation; Doctor of Philosophy (DPhil) by dissertation; and Doctor of Laws (LLD) by dissertation or by published work. Please visit the Doctoral Program website for more information.

For information on funding your postgraduate studies please visit the Postgraduate Funding web pages.