Oliver Tambo Moot Court


About Law

The Court has been built as a project funded entirely outside the budget of the University and is the result of a dedicated Faculty initiative. The capital cost has been met by a single donation from an overseas benefactor whose desire to remain anonymous has given the Faculty the freedom to choose a name for the Court which in itself confirms the Faculty's commitment to transformation.

The Law Faculty's transformation is in accord with the University's mission of being a world class university for Africa. The funders have included an endowment to meet short-term operating costs, though it is hoped that the Court will be self-funding.

The Faculty hopes that the funders, secure in the anonymity of their immensely generous donation, share our pride in the realisation of our dream to build a court which will develop advocacy skills and encourage spirited debate, while drawing the Faculty closer to the practice of law and to the achievement of justice and equity for all.


Architects Terry Bracher & Associates
Faculty Dean Professor PJ Schwikkard
Joinery & Furniture Neil Turner of Mobilia
Portrait Artist Caerli Hare
Stonemasons W Clift & Sons, Paarl
Audiovisual Futuremedia/Dimension Data

Faculty Committee

  • Professor Hugh Corder, former Dean of the Faculty of Law
  • Professor John Hare
  • Advocate Esther Steyn