Search

International Exchange

Key Contacts

Contacts and Directions

There are a number of key staff members which you may wish to contact prior to or during your studies at the Faculty of Law. These staff members are either situated in UCT's International Academic Programmes Office (IAPO) or the Faculty of Law. The key staff members and their contact details in both IAPO and the Law Faculty are set out below:

International Academic Partnerships Office

IAPO's role is to facilitate and promote all facets of internationalisation at UCT. It aims to be the first port of call for all international students and provides a wide range of services including general enquiries from prospective students, advice on the safety of the area you wish to stay in, the appropriateness of working while in South Africa, application for study permits and general advice about your stay at UCT. IAPO seeks to complement the services provided by other faculties and departments and has strong relations with service providers within and outside UCT. If you are an incoming foreign exchange or semester abroad student you will need to be in touch with IAPO before you arrive.

Email: int-iapo@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 650 2822 / 3740
Website: http://www.uct.ac.za/../iapo/

Faculty of Law

If you wish to enter into an agreement (collaborative or exchange related) with the Faculty of Law or intend studying law at UCT, you may need to contact the following persons.

Dean's Office

You may need to contact the members of this Office should you need the Dean's or Deputy Dean's signature or approval for anything.

Dean: Professor Penelope Andrews
Email: Penelope.Andrews@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 +21 650 2705/6

Executive Assistant to the Dean: Ms Sheryl Ronnie
Email: Sheryl.Ronnie@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 +21 650 2705/6

Deputy Dean: Undergraduate Studies: Professor Alan Rycroft
Email: Alan.Rycroft@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 +21 650 3070

Deputy Dean: Postgraduate Studies: Associate Professor Tracy Gutuza
Email: Tracy.Gutuza@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 +21 650 5900

Internationalisation & Exchange Portfolio

You may wish to contact the Director of Internationlisation, who manages the Faculty of Law's internationliasation and exchange portfolio, should you have any academic queries about internationalisation and staff and student exchange (incoming and outgoing).

Director of Internationalisation: Associate Professor Waheeda Amien
Email: Waheeda.Amien@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 +21 650 5995

Student Exchange Advisor: Ms Micha Young
Email: Micha.Lau@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 +21 650 5616

Faculty Office

You should contact the members of this Office should you have any administrative queries regarding your studies or exchange administration, including: applications; registration; timetabling; dissertations; graduation; and funding.

Faculty Manager: Academic Administration: Mrs Sashni Chetty
Email: Sashni.Chetty@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 +21 650 3086

Deputy Faculty Manager: Ms Patricia Phillips (queries from incoming exchange students)
Email: Patricia.Phillips@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 +21 650 5409

Administrative Assistant: Maurice Jacobs (queries from outgoing exchange students)
Email: Maurice.Jacobs@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 +21 650 5745

Programme Convenors

A convenor has been appointed to oversee each of the specialist postgraduate programmes. You should contact the appropriate programme convenor should you have any questions regarding the structure and content of these programmes or their constituent courses.

Commercial Law Assoc Prof G Bradfield (graham.bradfield@uct.ac.za)
Comparative Law in Africa Prof Salvatore Mancuso (salvatore.mancuso@uct.ac.za)
Constitutional & Admin Law Prof HM Corder (hugh.corder@uct.ac.za)
Criminal Justice Assoc Prof Dee Smythe (dee.smythe@uct.ac.za)
Dispute Resolution Prof Alan Rycroft (alan.rycroft@uct.ac.za)
Environmental Law Prof A Paterson (alexander.paterson@uct.ac.za)
Human Rights Law Prof D Chirwa (danwood.chirwa@uct.ac.za)
Intellectual Property Law Ms Lee-Ann Tong (lee-ann.tong@uct.ac.za)
International Law Ms Cathy Powell (cathy.powell@uct.ac.za)
International Trade Law Assoc Prof G Bradfield (graham.bradfield@uct.ac.za)
Labour Law Ms S Singlee (sufinna.singlee@uct.ac.za)
Public Law Prof D Chirwa (danwood.chirwa@uct.ac.za)
Shipping Law Assoc Prof G Bradfield (graham.bradfield@uct.ac.za)
Tax Law Dr T Gutuza (tracy.gutuza@uct.ac.za)

Course Convenors

The resumes and contact details of all course convenors are available on the Law Faculty's website.